Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

ArcheAge: What's Up with ArcheAge

SBFordSBFord Former Associate EditorMember LegendaryPosts: 33,129

Trion Worlds' CEO Scott Hartsman took time from his schedule to be interviewed by ArcheAge Source about what Trion Worlds has been up to recently with regard to the game's Western release. Hartsman talks about the localization efforts, game improvements and much more.

It’s been a while since we’ve said anything about ArcheAge. What’s the hold up?

I mentioned some of this in my last update on AA a few weeks ago in an MMO is insanely hard. To do it with four different locales lined up behind the initial launch is like doing it on insanely-hard mode, and the job XL has done so far with so many pressures has really been commendable.

While the time between signing and where we are now has also been frustrating for me as a gamer, as a producer I understand that it’s for the best. This is mostly for two reasons:

• XL can only work on so many things at a time while they strive to constantly improve their live Korean service, and that’s necessitated them working on the partnered launches serially. Working on all the locales at once would have put them in a spot where they couldn’t succeed with any of them.

• Our locale being where it is in the lineup (after Russia) means that we’ll be benefitting from a lot of what they’ve learned with both their native game as well as the locales in between.
The great news out of Russia this week, about the Russian closed beta beginning this December, does mean that XL will be able to return focus to Trion’s locales, which is very well timed -- It comes right as we’re able to talk a little about their incoming game improvements, which our version will be benefitting from by launching cleanly with them already in place.

Read more at the link above. It's a terrific interview.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯ 

Comments