Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

MMORPG.COM News: STO: Daron Stinnet Profile

Daron Stinnett is the Executive Producer of Star Trek Online, currently in development at the San Francisco-based Perpetual Entertainment.  In our first developer profile Q&A in a while we ask how he got there, what he does and how you can get there. We also snuck in an update on the progress of the game itself.

imageMMORPG.com: The gaming industry draws from all quarters. Can you run us through how you came to your current job?

Daron Stinnett: I’ve been making games professionally for 25 years starting in High School at a time when the typical team size was one.  My focus for the first half of my career was on programming but the nature of small teams gave me the opportunity to become involved in most aspects of development.   In 1990 I moved to the Bay Area to join Spectrum HoloByte where I Executive Produced the Simulations group responsible for Falcon 3.0 and other flight sims.  About 12 years ago I joined LucasArts as a Project Leader/Director leading the development of several titles including Dark Forces, Outlaws, Starfighter, and most recently, Republic Commando.

MMOs are the new frontier for both game players and developers.  They offer an opportunity for innovation that has all but vanished from the traditional games market.  So after several years on the console side of the business, I decided to jump into MMO development by joining Perpetual Entertainment to head-up Star Trek Online.

The entire Q&A is available here.

Dana Massey
Formerly of MMORPG.com
Currently Lead Designer for Bit Trap Studios

Comments

• TookyGTookyG Warhammer Online CorrespondentMember UncommonPosts: 1,115