Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Getting "the feels" again for this game. But I'm wary...

Pratt2112Pratt2112 Member UncommonPosts: 1,636

Greetings, programs!

I'm a FFXI vet; started playing at launch and played on and off (mostly on) for over 7 years before they started making changes I didn't agree with and slowed down my playing. Abyssea, and the way it totally changed the way people play the game (hence, making it harder for me to enjoy it as I had been and wished to continue), turned me off completely to it.

I tried going back a couple times, avoiding Abyssea in the process (which it seems is necessary for the gear.. unless there's equivalent gear you can obtain outside of it), but found it to be a lonely endeavor. Community is important to me in a MMO, and my love of FFXI was very much due to the high amount of interaction I had with other players. So, now that everyone's moved way on ahead and I'm stuck way behind, I'm not sure there's much of that interaction to be had for someone who isn't at cap.

One thing I noticed my last time back, is that the general attitude of many (most?) players hasn't changed in XI - one of the ugly parts of the game as I remember...