Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Holy trinity

Lord.BachusLord.Bachus Member RarePosts: 9,686

GW2 did many things good in adding new and fresh things... but also they added some things that did not work that good..

I really love how GW2 plays in open world solo PvE and all the PvP...  But the gameplay in Dynamic events is a bit to much zergish.

But Dungeon instances dont work for me, they are to chaotic, and i have come to the conclusion that in this case a trinity based system is what i prefer, because it gives people distinct roles... and espescially tactics.   Its the main reason i started playing other games, only playing GW2 from time to time for a good PvP match.

Sad thing is that other developers are taking the same route right now, copying GW2 features like non trinity, with nothing to replace the removal of a tactical and strategical layer from the gameplay.

Best MMO experiences : EQ(PvE), DAoC(PvP), WoW(total package) LOTRO (worldfeel) GW2 (Artstyle and animations and worlddesign) SWTOR (Story immersion) TSW (story) ESO (character advancement)

Comments

• SiphaedSiphaed Member RarePosts: 1,114

The "trinity" is a crutch.  It makes the player a non-hero entity of a collaboration of The Sword (DPS), The Shield (tank) , and The Body (healer).  You're nothing without the other two, and games penalize you otherwise.   

Leveling in a trinity based game is a nightmare for anything other than a DPS, unless you have direct friends (because honestly, even in those games the open world content is hardly grouped; only dungeons/raids get grouped).  Healers die far too much, killing nearly nothing, and even in groups hardly get XP (thanks to healing not counting, but damage to mob only).  Tanks just take forever to kill something, making leveling them a rather slow affair.