Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

[Column] General: Why So Many MMOs Disappoint

Comments

• laseritlaserit Member LegendaryPosts: 7,591
    Originally posted by BMBender
    Originally posted by Boneserino

BmBender

Well there you have it, so you are telling all of us that  what we have  now  is the best we can expect.   Until hardware improves enough to support the massive amount of programming it will take to change games from having dull and lifeless NPC's,  to having them behave, at least with some semblance of rational thought.  

I am not a programmer but that's kind of what I thought too.

As Kyleran said:

Pity

IT is not a question of hardware/software it is a question of completely opposing desired results

the exact same encounter a one demographic will want a certain result returned, while another will want something completely different.  player characters do not come with handy little flags to tell the AI witch demographic they belong too.

as I stated earlier there are games that do exactly what you say you want but since every current developer is chasing the "all demographics" market the ai has to be toned down to match.

Yea yea I get that.  But you are basically saying that things cannot change and therefore will not. 

I have to disagree about the can not part. 

Well everyone seems to think sandbox player driven content is the way to go but I feel that is also going to fail. 

Time will tell.

they won't change as long as games try to fit everyone under the same tent. or have you been asleep over the last decade?

and I never once mentioned sandbox nor was I referring to it.  that's just one demographic among many

Hmm a little testy aren't we?