Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What game is for me? Skeptical MMO Vet (long)

Stiles223Stiles223 Member UncommonPosts: 35

Hi there!

I read often and never post but I'm at a crossroads in terms of what I play.  I really like MMOs and have been playing since my first taste of Ultima Online when it released so many years ago. I graduated to Everquest after UO. To date those two remain my favourite two MMOs of all time. They had definite risk and reward and I liked the open world feel. They also had their shortcomings but whatever, I liked them best.

After EQ got stale (after Luclin) I played a bunch of games casually until my next big time waster entered the scene, World of Warcraft. WoW is also a ship that sailed for me as it became daily-centric and was the same ol routine. Even with the new content patch that has some fancy island I will not go back to that. I do have some fond memories of WoW's earlier days and I will leave them there, in the early days.

One game that was fairly close to hooking me was EVE Online but at the end of the day I just did not want to pvp all of the time and the options for PvE play in my opinion are less than stellar. Another one that almost had me was Dungeons and Dragons Online. I liked the class customization but in the end what killed it for me was low populations (less so) and Turbines updates which became increasingly more wallet stressful (unnecessary addons/features that you need to buy to play with your peers).

Currently I am playing Rift. When it went F2P I thought I'd give it a try. For its price, its a great game (I paid 5 bucks to unlock some functionality). Beyond that...it is daily quests and raids (again). It is not something I see myself dropping any more money on. It is a decent game but not too much stands out for me.