Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Religious and LGBT Guilds, Yay or Nay?

Comments

• Ansel09Ansel09 Member Posts: 5
    I've been playing mmo's for a few years now and I never really liked to associate myself with any sort of specified interest group guilds. I'm gay but never like to bring it up in a game because of the usual hate that follows. Although, as more time passes I just can't feel comfortable anymore with the so called "mature" guilds that keep using the word gay and fag every minute in their conversations. This has brought me to join a LGBT friendly guild that will let me freely express my opinion without worrying about who in the guild is uncomfortable with my sexuality. Though before you bring up what does me being gay have anything pertinent in a game setting, well their hasn't been a guild yet that I've joined where its members do not like discussing their girlfriends, marriages, their taste in women and so on. If I were to bring up my life or tastes, I would just get the usual response as to why should you bring up your sexuality in game. So as you can see it's just a double standard on the usual (straight) gamers mentality. To add to that thought, I never had a problem with guild mates discussing their lives freely but I don't like feeling like walking on eggshells, so to speak, when speaking about my life so they won't feel uncomfortable. LGBT friendly guilds are nothing more than a relaxed environment where people don't have to feel judged for being who they are.
  • isslingissling Member UncommonPosts: 162
    Originally posted by immodium

What I find unusual is why someone would play a game and think "I need to get my sexual orientation/religious/political views involved somehow"

Because if we don't we end up in a guild where they just talk shit about us not even knowing where in the same guild. Have you even thought about that!

• sado2020sado2020 Member Posts: 112