Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Question about alts

McBiffMcBiff Member Posts: 11
I'm new to Eve and enjoying the game.I played Eve before about five years ago,for a couple of months,so it's like starting over again.That was back when there was learning skills and races were more adapted to certain roles.Back then(hope I'm right by the way)it made sense to for instance,have a Brutor for a combat pilot and a Sebiestor for a miner .Now as far as I understand race choice doesn't have any such effect on your career paths,so this leads to my question.Does it make sense to have an alt on the same accout to fill a different role?My fear is that you'll still have to cross train so many of the same skills that it may just be better to have one character with many skills than to split skill points between the two.Is having an alt(on the same account)self defeating and a waste of time and effort?I do realize that many players have more than one account and that would be the best way to go but I haven't decided if I want to spend the extra money.Thanks in advance.

Comments

• ElderRatElderRat Member CommonPosts: 899
    My opinion is that it is better to have 2 accounts(or more). The problem with having another character on the same account is that you can only train one of them or play one of them at the same time.  2 accounts mean you can play both and train both at the same time. You will reach a point eventually where you can buy in game plex and use it to fund one or both accounts. Lets you have 2 accounts working in tandem - or doing different things. I often played split screen and had a miner and a fighter to defend or a hauler to keep the miner out longer. Depends on you really but I would recommend 2  or more accounts over 2 toons on the same account.

Currently bored with MMO's.

• mmoguy43mmoguy43 Member UncommonPosts: 2,770
    Originally posted by McBiff