Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Lotro, once a great game destroyed...

Comments

• AzaqinAzaqin Member UncommonPosts: 67

Sigh. Just another poster who doesn't get the fact that if the game does not supply what you want, then you don't play it. There are plenty of games that will happily give you exactly what you want.

The truth is that there is a market for a game that is NOT raid or PvP centric. Hell, a lot of people prefer it.

• ThenextbigthingThenextbigthing Member Posts: 104
    Originally posted by dreamscaper

I started playing LotRO shortly after the SoA launch.

I've always loved Tolkien, so I was hooked in the very beginning. I didn't reach max level until a few months before the Moria launch, but I distinctly remember having lots of fun all along the way. The world was huge and mostly open, there were plenty of dangerous areas (my repair bills in Angmar especially were atrocious), and the game was just very solidly made. Then Moria came, and it was mostly awesome with the exception of the Legendary weapon system (there is NOTHING legendary about that massive recycling system). Then came the big Pre-Lorien patch which was...underwhelming, to say the least. The same was true for Lorien itself.

Then came Mirkwood, followed by the f2p transition. Awful. Dunland. Worse. Isengard. Atrocious. Rohan I didn't even bother purchasing, so I can't comment on it. All I know is that the last time I tried the game (a few weeks ago), even with a subscription they @#&;*ing store was popping up EVERYWHERE. It was completely obnoxious. I uninstalled without finishing my sub and didn't look back.

LotRO was once a great game, but that time was a long time ago.

No one cares. Bye.

• ThenextbigthingThenextbigthing Member Posts: 104
    Originally posted by nosam9