Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

[Column] General: Newbies

SBFordSBFord Former Associate EditorMember LegendaryPosts: 33,129

Everyone was, at one time or another, a newbie in their chosen MMO. How those newbs are treated can literally make or break a game. In his latest column, Matt Miller takes on the issue of Newbies and much more. Read on and then share some of your newbie experiences in the comments.

When I played Star Wars: The Old Republic I was usually the one answering newbies’ questions on the Rebel Fleet; telling them where the skill respec NPC can be found, or what gathering skills went with what professions. A lot of time, however, players would simply tell the asker to “look it up” or be even ruder in their replies. I know when I am just starting out playing a game (especially if it’s been around awhile and it seems like everyone is a veteran) that I am wary of asking “newbie” questions for fear of getting the rude answers. I usually wait to see if someone else gets a polite response before I chime in with my own questions. I wish this didn’t have to be the case.

Read more of Matt Miller's Newbies.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯ 

Comments

• SovrathSovrath Member LegendaryPosts: 32,014

In Lineage 2 I would completely gear new players in bronze armor and a Falchion (or whatever the corresponding mage equipment etc)

I once saw a player in the "Ruins of Despair" (I think that was it) and gave him a million adena. If I'm not mistaken he rose to become one of the more powerful players on the server.