Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What things were a detriment in the original

IakXasturIakXastur Member UncommonPosts: 49

I started playing EQ right after Kunark went live. Played through velious and luclin. Then I kept taking breaks from the game, coming back once a year or so. So, at least in my limited opinion here are some things that made the original too frustrating:

1.)Mandatory researchable spells. Getting your skill level up was a pain in the, you know what. And then trying to get the drops to be able to research that specific spells could be nearly impossible. By the time you got the spells for that set of levels, you were up to the next tier, unless you were in a guild that had a high level toon doing research for the guild.

2.)Not a complete negative, and fun in its own right, but the lack of in game map. It was fun when you first got into Lesser Faydark, when you were trying to get to butcherblock. But when your character ran into the Nightblight Sisters, with all your hard won gear, your night was over. Though on the flip side, when you were level 5, just doing foot races with other newbies in "high" level areas, was a blast.

3.)Plane of Knowledge. Great place to get together, but the instant it opened, with the ability to go wherever you wanted, took a lot of the immersion of the world away. A warrior could be on Odus one minute, and the moons the next. Luclin at least made you have to wait long periods of times, or felt like it, to get the port.

4.)Excessive death penalty. I have no real problems with an ACTUAL penalty to dieing, but when you were in the hell levels, and things weren't clicking for you, even for a minute or two, hours of work was lost at least once, that's not even counting going for a nekkid corpse run with mobs that were already difficult for you. It was easy to lose a level in no time.