Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advice Needed!!

OoroborosOoroboros Member Posts: 12
Hey guys, for the past 3 years I've been using my dinky little Dell Inspirion to play WoW, Aion, and other games that don't require a super amazing video card. I'm fairly new to all of this so I need some advice. I just opened up my old 2005 Compaq Presario. It has an Integrated NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE graphics card, as well as a PCIEx16 slot. The processor is an AMD Athlon 64. I plan on buying this card to plug into the PCI Express x16 slot. Can anyone give me their opinion on this before I spend the money? Again I'm new to this, and any advice would be great before I make a huge mistake.

Comments

• syntax42syntax42 Member UncommonPosts: 1,378

That might be an upgrade, but it is time to replace the entire system if you plan on gaming with it.  No upgrades can really make your system play modern games.

If you really want a gaming desktop, plan to spend $400 for a low-end system.  If you can afford to spend $800+, you should be able to get a fairly good system if you don't include peripherals and a monitor.

• EpicentEpicent Member UncommonPosts: 648