Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

AoW: A Great Example of Why Sandbox Titles Don't Work in the West

fat_taddlerfat_taddler Member Posts: 286

I just started playing AoW and absolutely love the game so far.   For the first time since the launch of SWG back in 2003,  I have "that feeling" of immersion and wonder that I've been missing for all of these years.  

What I also realized during my initial few hours in the game and from reading many forum posts, is that most of the current crop of MMO players have not and probably will not make it through the tutorial aspects of this game.   

This is a real shame because there is a ton of potential in this game but it seems that most will never get to see it because the tutorial is "boring." 

We see so many people on these forums clamoring for sandbox titles yet there is barely any support for this title.   Why not?   If you are so desperately seeking a sandbox experience, here's a great title to try.   The best part is that it's free, you just need to invest some time and patience to learn the game. 

Unfortunately,  I think a lot of players enjoy the idea of a sandbox style game but so far it seems that most can't or won't even play one. 

Comments

• fldashfldash Member UncommonPosts: 227

This game would be successful if the translations were good and the interface was Western.

End of story. Has nothing to do with sandboxes not working in the West.

Former xFire user... I only wanted a game tracker and messenger, not a screenshot taker, video recording, broadcasting piece of bloatware.

• fat_taddlerfat_taddler Member Posts: 286
    Originally posted by fldash

This game would be successful if the translations were good and the interface was Western.

Keep telling yourself that.   There's nothing game-breaking about the translations or the UI.   The UI is very simple and even resembles most themeparks.