Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

A long time MMO player's lament

Hi, folks.

I started playing MMOs about 12 years ago. In the beginning, they were great. I was absolutely thrilled by my first MMO experience. In recent years, however, I've found myself struggling to maintain interest in anything. While it's true that I could just be burned out on MMOs, there are specific things I've noticed that have really started to annoy me regarding the design of recent games. I will detail some of them for you here, in the hopes that some may share my feelings and perhaps point me towards anything more desireable, as I am rather out of the loop regarding newer MMOs in development.

This thread is, in part, a looking for game thread. I posted it in general because of the rant involved, and the potential discussion it could lead to.

Please be advised there is a TL;DR section down toward the end, for those who don't have the time now/can't be bothered to read the whole thing.

Story/Quests

First, the quests. Lineage 2 was my first real MMO and I fell in love with it right away. I remember being at a low level, exploring around the Elven starting zone, and deciding to check out a nearby dungeon. I slowly made my way a few rooms in, then came across another guy doing the same. We joined up and made it further in, before finally dying valiantly to some much more powerful enemies. When we went back, we found a higher level guy burning karma (he had just killed someone else - open world pvp), and instead of killing him and having a chance at his items, we decided to let him join us so we could make it further in. This is something else I find lacking in recent MMOs -- a gray area. There was no clear best option to take here, as both options offered us risks and benefits. We had to make a meaningful choice about what to do with this guy.