Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Am I just too old to PvP?

2»

Comments

• copin920copin920 Member Posts: 10

I was having this discussion with a few friends of mine. I started playing Ultima Online at release when I was 12 (I'm 28 now) and played for years having a blast PKing/PVPing people. However, since I've gotten older I've tried so many newer sandbox full loot and pvp games such as Eve Online and Darkfall and I just can't get into it.

I really can't put my finger on when or why it changed, but it's more of annoyance now. It may be that I actually have a job now and other things going on in my life that I don't want to sink a few hours into a game just to have all of that progress halted by some guys just looking to screw up someone's day. It was definitely a gradual change, but now, I'm so opposed to PVP that i've become something I used to hate as a kid...a carebear.  I never understood when I was playing UO why people would avoid fights, but now I completely get it. I still have no idea why the change happened, but a lot of my friends whom I played UO with have felt the same way.

• Download Tribes: Ascend (free to play high-speed FPS). Play that relentlessly for a few weeks. If you have any kind of success there it's not age keeping you back in MMOs.
  • treelotreelo Member Posts: 70

Play some chess, do some puzzles.  The only difference is pace.  Reaction speed is nothing if your decisions are always the wrong ones.

Watching older family members falter at what I would consider a simple task in a moderately fast game it quickly becomes obvious they simply can't process the relevant information fast enough and make the right choice.  Those that have remained mentally active either perform much better, or "quickly" adapt (albeit much slower than someone half their age might.)