Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Are we old farts a dying breed?

Comments

• kostantiskostantis Member UncommonPosts: 29

hehe, hello old-timers

i think the insta-grat crowd was always out there, but now they have multiplied. in our hobby it is especially apparent because the market has opened up so much.

for an example relevant to our subject:

I have been practicing a sport/martial art for more than 15 years... anyway, young people come and train and it is a more common occurence for a young person to think that he should be as good as most senior practitioners within a very limited amount of time. they like to get them things fast and be done with them, and usually do not stay around for too long if there are no short-term rewards/benefits. On the other hand, there are indeed some who will stay after practice, ask questions, want to compete against the best, put the extra time and enjoy the activity for what it is. i really enjoy spending my time with those people (they also make me feel important, hehe) and watch them improve, sweat and feel they have indeed accomplished something when they understand their own progress compared to those around them... We are not a competitive/pro club, we just practice because we enjoy our hobby and we have created a nice little enviroment where we all like t be in....I am now almost 35 and, hate to admit it, slower and less explosive than i used to be at 25, maybe a bit stronger, but my body is not at that peak condition i so fondly remember... also, I have a family and a job and less free time for my hobby...

Should I demand that it changes its nature/rules so that it would accomodate my physical condition and limited time? Or should I adjust myself/my life and try to enjoy it as much as I can?