Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What MMOs have the best build variety compared to PoE & Diablo 3?

nariusseldonnariusseldon Member EpicPosts: 27,775

What drives combat fun (for me at least) is different build & combat styles in a game. Diablo 3 is great on that. For example, for the wiz, aside from the two most popular builds (CM & hybrid archon), there are perm-archon, meteor (quite popular), disintegration, healing blade/blizz-melee build, the old blizz-hydra kiting build, and so on (so i have already counted 7, without counting variations, and some of the less viable ones like arcane orb). And that is just ONE class.

I also know that PoE has many skills, and the system allows for many builds. I am not an expert in that game (yet) so i cannot name all the builds.

So the quesiton is what MMOs have the best skill/build system design to faciliate this kind of combat style diversity? I know about the old WOW system .. which is pretty inflexible. You essentially have 3 spec & 3 play-style per class. I suppose the total 3x10 is still pretty high but I have to level up all 10 to get the variety and cannot experiement and try many different build for one class. Is the new skill system better.

What modern MMOs have good variety of builds?

Comments

• TheUnscathedTheUnscathed Member UncommonPosts: 25

While there are a few cookie cutter pvp builds, Champions Online, with Sub, has a ton of different builds you can go for. I tend to make characters and builds based on themes - Ghost Fire Swordsman (Ghost Knight) Magical Archer (Darrow) Cosmic Might and Power (Mobius- Think Silver Surfer) the possiblities are endless especially when you can color your powers to your own discretion.

Hope that helps.

• PurutzilPurutzil Member UncommonPosts: 3,048