Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Can the Fair Use act null NDA for MMO games?

IsturiIsturi Member Posts: 1,509

I recently came across what is known as the Fair Use of the Copyright Act 1976 which states:

"Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for "fair use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use."

So with this thought in mind If I did qualify as someone who with a legit purpose should be able to break the NDA of any MMO?

I am not a legal expert I just thought maybe someone on this site might know?image

Comments

• Squeak69Squeak69 Member UncommonPosts: 959

no, because when you log into the game it counts as a eltronic signature when you read the NDA. this has the same legal aspects of a normal sig.

because of this a NDA is actually a signed contract between the company and the tester, which throws all fair use laws out the window.

F2P may be the way of the future, but ya know they dont make them like they used toimage
    Proper Grammer & spelling are extra, corrections will be LOL at.

• TealaTeala Member RarePosts: 7,627
    Originally posted by Squeak69

no, because when you log into the game it counts as a eltronic signature when you read the NDA. this has the same legal aspects of a normal sig.

because of this a NDA is actually a signed contract between the company and the tester, which throws all fair use laws out the window.

This is correct.   The NDA(which is a binding contract made between consenting parties) makes 107 null and void.

• SlampigSlampig Member UncommonPosts: 2,342

That Guild Wars 2 login screen knocked up my wife. Must be the second coming!

Originally posted by Slampig

I know...sucks doesn't it.