Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Time for upgrade..? :)

2»

Comments

• jdnewelljdnewell Member UncommonPosts: 2,237

I think you are worried too much about what a chart says =)

I am not a pro like some of the other people that post here, but I have been building my own computers for many many years.

IMO if you want to do incremental upgrades then its your money to do as you wish. But its a waste of money in the end and your only getting a small upgrade each time. Your money is better spent actually buying something decent from the start instead of upgrading an old cpu with a slightly less old outdated cpu ( or gpu for that matter).

You posted asking for advice and dont seem to want to listen to what anyone else advises lol.

Its your money so spend it how you wish, throw good money after bad is your right.

• GdemamiGdemami Member EpicPosts: 12,342

Originally posted by jdnewellBut its a waste of money in the end and your only getting a small upgrade each time.

Yeah, that 120 USD spent on E2160 serving me well for 6 years is surely wasted money. Instead, I should have been spending +300 USD and needed to upgrade today anyway...

Originally posted by Gdemami

Originally posted by jdnewell

But its a waste of money in the end and your only getting a small upgrade each time.

Yeah, that 120 USD spent on E2160 serving me well for 6 years is surely wasted money. Instead, I should have been spending +300 USD and needed to upgrade today anyway...

If that served you well for 6 years then you must have low needs & expectations out of a computer. And with that in mind the $300 better cpu would probably still be serving you well with what little needs you do have.