Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help buying a new desktop

dauntSilverdauntSilver Member Posts: 146
I have about $1000 to drop on a desktop pc.. what should I get? I have to admit, im new at this.

Comments

• RaunuRaunu Member UncommonPosts: 480
    Originally posted by dauntSilver
    I have about $1000 to drop on a desktop pc.. what should I get? I have to admit, im new at this.

Go to youtube and watch the Newegg instructions on choosing parts and building a PC.  After watching the videos, let us know if you're comfortable doing this and then we'll be able to give you a better recommendation.

Here's link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPIXAtNGGCw

- - "What if the hokey pokey really is what it's all about?" - -

• CabalocCabaloc Member Posts: 116
      Yea the newegg videos are good if your gonna pick your parts
  • IselinIselin Member LegendaryPosts: 18,719

Are you starting from scratch or do you already have some things you're keeping like monitor, keyboard, mouse?

i generally trust independent hardware sites much more than anyone who is trying to sell you stuff...for obvious reasons :)

Once upon a time I used to use Sharky's Extreme 3 different priced builds as a guideline to build my own. Sadly they don't seem to update the site any longer--the latest builds there are from the spring of 2012.

Here's a site that helps you coose your components using a color-coded tiered approach. There are also tutorials there on how to build. For a $1000 budget you want to be looking at Tier3 or 4 components: http://www.hardware-revolution.com/mainstream-gaming-pcs-v3-8-1/

Even if you want someone to build it for you, you're much better off picking the components one by one and then finding a good place that stocks those components and builds custom PCs.