Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Why to build instead of buy Pre-built

EMT-PEMT-P Member Posts: 19

Hi, So I'm new to this hardware forum, but not to PC building, If any of you are redditors I come from http://www.reddit.com/r/buildapchttp://www.reddit.com/r/gamingpc, and http://www.reddit.com/r/overclocking. Feel free to stop buy and ask us any questions 

Note: Please read the sidebars for rules on posting in each of these subreddits

As some of you may be considering buying prebuilt over building it yourself, I have decided to make a post about the differences between the two. 

First I will make up a pro's/con's list between Pre-built and Self-built.

If you are interested in building yourself here are some great DIY youtube videos to follow

Part 1Choosing Your Components http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPIXAtNGGCw

Part 2 - The build http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d_56kyib-Ls

Part 3Installing Windows & Finishing Touches http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxaVBsXEiok

Self-built Pro's

• Much cheaper parts
  • More variety on the choice of parts
  • Easier to RMA(return merchandise authorization) parts that arrive DOA(Dead on arrival)
  • Only have to ship back that one hardware piece that you are RMAing
  • Easier to upgrade
  • Learn more about PCs

Self-Built Con's

• Can be tedious work and requires some patience
  • Possibility of breaking hardware if careless
  • Difficult to figure out what parts to choose

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pre-built Pro's

• Easy, quick, and fast
  • Makes it easy for novices who know little about PCs (check cons)
  • No worries about breaking parts by putting them together yourself
  • Little maintenece involved

Pre-built Con's

• Much more expensive
  • Usually exploits novices by giving parts that are unneeded, while sacrificing other parts
  • Shipping usually takes a long time