Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

EQ1- How were you introduced to the game? How old were you, experiences you had?.

Comments

• boojiboyboojiboy Member UncommonPosts: 1,553

I started playing sometime in the late spring of 1999, shortly after it was released.  I was 29 and EQ was my first MMO experience.

I had actually heard about Ultima Online from somebody and I was very intrigued about the whole 'persistent world' MMO concept.  I decided to go to a local game store, probably EB Games to buy it.  But the person at the store persuaded me to by EQ instead of Ultima Online, stating it was less 'laggy'.

So I bought Everquest, installed it and began playing.  I was IMMEDIATELY hooked and still remember my first hours of game play vividly... I rolled a Wizard, found my way out of Felewithe (sp?) and into the newbie zone.  It was night, people were running for their lives back to the guards outside the city... I was hooked for the next 5 years.

• KenFisherKenFisher Member UncommonPosts: 5,035

1999, I was 38.  Standing in my partner's office he had the office TV tuned to CNN.  They were talking about people selling EQ gear on ebay for _real cash_ money.

My thought at the time...  MMOs?  I'll stick with LAN parties.

Ken Fisher - Semi retired old fart Network Administrator, now working in Network Security.  I don't Forum PVP.  If you feel I've attacked you, it was probably by accident.  When I don't understand, I ask.  Such is not intended as criticism.
  • Trudge34Trudge34 Member UncommonPosts: 392