Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Does a sub fee get you away from the cash shop ?

delete5230delete5230 Member EpicPosts: 7,081

Im sitting in a hotel in Germany and soon to come back to the States.  Both my friend and I are playing the F2P for something to do when not working.

I got a Lore-master to level 13 and enjoying the game. My friend ( 13 Hunter ) is finding Deeds and unlocking Traits more so than me. I really have not tried much as we could only get so far for free anyway. But I find this system would be a lot of fun.

Now my questions are :

- I hate F2P real bad, and would never pay a penny into it. Can you buy the game and/or the expantions and play the game as normal ?

- I'm very social.  I don't like to come across as nasty, but I don't like playing with free-be players that are all gimped up because they are not paying nothing.  At higher levels is there a REAL COMMUNITY ?.....Players that are not gimped.

Comments

• LithuanianLithuanian Member UncommonPosts: 540

Answers from F2P player:

1. "Yes, you can" (copyright by B.Obama, non-Lotro toon). You can buy all the expansions, remove all the restrictions. Buying any stuff from Turbine store for real cash makes you Premium user (i.e. swift travel unlocked, can send money). Paying some 15$ a month makes you VIP (entitled to 500 Turbine points monthly and PvP, called "monster play").

Please remember that when new expansion comes - you will have to buy it.

2. Not sure about higher levels. Maybe veterans of Lotro could answer more clearly. As for me, I am F2P and buy all stuff using Turbine points...yet I do not consider myself somewhat different from, say, any other lvl.43 Dwarf Champion.

---

According to store.turbine.com it may cost you:

Riders of  Rohan: 40$ (optional: 69$ worth pack that also gives you 2000 Turbine points)

Expansion triple pack (Moria, Isengard, Mirkwood): 40$

Sanwise McGee starter pack: 10 $