Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Recent Computer Issue

kftauruskftaurus Member UncommonPosts: 36

Good Evening All, 

I have a problem I was hoping someone could help me fix. I have a custom built PC that I have been running for roughly 6 months now and just recently it has hit a lag issues on its framerates. I am not sure if it is CPU related or video card related, the CPU seems to be put into overdrive when running games or multiple tasks. I am ran CCleaner to try to fix the problem but that did not help. I also updated my video card drivers and checked the temperatures on both my CPU and GPU which seem to be normal. A Malwarebytes scan found nothing nor Kaspersky and due to the fact that this is a gaming rig, and an expensive one at that I limit my downloading and try to watch what sites I visit. This issue seemed to pop up in the past few days and I have no idea what the root cause could be. Does anyone have any ideas on what the problem could be or would anyone be willing to run through some solutions? My system specs are as follows: 

CPU: Intel i-7 2600 @ 3.4ghz 
GPU: Nvidia GTX 580 3g 
Op System: Windows 7 x64 
RAM: 16gb 

Any other questions please let me know, and thank you so much for your time in advance. 

It is probably noteworthy to say that it is an intermittent issue. I first noticed it when I was playing Rage and the game stuttered and now today while checking to see if it was a fluke by running Terreria. Neither of these should be an issue for my PC at all.

I have done the following so far with no immediate fixes in sight: Run defrag, scandisk, memory check, updated drivers, monitored temperatures both of CPU and GPU.

When the lag spikes hit, even while playing something as resource minimal as Terreria I am only getting 38 FPS, something is clearly not right.

Playing:Vanguard, Firefall
Waiting for: TESO

Comments

• kftauruskftaurus Member UncommonPosts: 36