Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help with internet speed and usage!

dreamer05dreamer05 Member UncommonPosts: 679

Alright so basically in our apartment we pay 99$ a month to get Time Warner's best ineternet speeds.  They say it goes to 50mbps, but general with only our laptop on and doing tests highest I've ever seen is usually 27-29mbps.  Now I have a decent gaming desktop I like to play Dungeon Defenders on and have been experiencing lag when I really believe I shouldn't and am trying to find out why.  I am not good at understanding internet specifics and how it works but I also believed I had a good modem and router.  Also there are 3 of us living here, each of us has an iphone (though I generally make my roomates turn it off to save internet for computers) a gaming laptop, an ipad, a gaming desktop, a ps3 (connected directly to the router) and a roku and apple tv that generally aren't all on at the same time.  We usually only have the ipad, ps3, gaming laptop and desktop on.  Are we just trying to run too many internet using items at once?  Generally I have been making sure everything but the gaming desktop are completely shut off and I still experience lag!!  I am going to give specifics to see if I need a new router or modem or adapter but please any suggestions, hints, or anything else will be helpful as I feel we should not have this problem.

PS:  If we have too many things on and using the internet at once it kinda just quits working. 

Thanks for any help and here is my router, adapter, and modem:

Medialink - Wireless N Broadband Router - 150 Mbps - 2.4 Ghz - 802.11n

This router is the perfect solution for adding a wireless network to your home or business. It fully complies with wireless standards and is guaranteed to work with any manufacturer's 2.4Ghz wireless adapter and most manufacturers' DSL/Cable modems.

Specifications
- Wireless Data Transfer Rate: 150 Mbps