Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The best microtransaction (cash shop) models?

GPrestigeGPrestige Member UncommonPosts: 523

I have only played P2P MMOs, until recently. For the longest time, I've only heard horror stories about F2P MMOs. I've heard that they are money grabs, or make the game "pay-to-win"... but I decided to give one a try.

I just started playing the Lord of the Rings Online, and have found that the game store can be quite fun. I can pay a monthly fee if I want, and get almost anything included, or I can pass on the subscription and just buy what I want. Also theres a ton of little fun things that are fairly cheap, to buy whenever I want a boost.

The point of this thread is I want to know what other games out there have good microtransaction models. What makes them good? Are most F2P MMOs like this? 

-Computer specs no one cares about: check.

-MMOs played no one cares about: check.

-Xfire stats no one cares about: check.

-Signature no one cares about: check.

------------------------------------------------------------
-Narcissism: check.

Comments

• anemoanemo Member RarePosts: 1,903
    probably freemium with the ability to sell premium time/access to other players.

Practice doesn't make perfect, practice makes permanent.

"At one point technology meant making tech that could get to the moon, now it means making tech that could get you a taxi."

• asmkm22asmkm22 Member Posts: 1,788
    Originally posted by GPrestige

I have only played P2P MMOs, until recently. For the longest time, I've only heard horror stories about F2P MMOs. I've heard that they are money grabs, or make the game "pay-to-win"... but I decided to give one a try.