Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Do engineers make video games? why or why not?

2»

Comments

• SinellaSinella Member UncommonPosts: 343
    Originally posted by Nitth

Originally posted by Sinella
    I think there is a misconception about programming. It's not based on math. It's much more based on logical and ordered thinking. I have university degree of software developing ( programmer mathematician to be correct) and I've worked 15+ years as a software developer.  Not as a game developer though, I mostly worked with databases. I've learnt a huge amount of maths at the uni...and after finishing it I've never ever needed what I learnt there about maths. Seriously, not even once. 

I'm only a student so your 15+ years trumps mine, However it really does depend on the task.

From my limited experience working with game code, There is a fair bit of mathematics in regards to the the computer geometry involved with making 3D games. Diffrent matrices like the pitch yar and rol for different objects and gamespace, and LA when those objects move does requires some thinking..(atleast for me)

The Software degree i'm undertaking is supposed to prepare me for tasks in the medical and industrial fields. So i'm assuming if i went that route there would be a lot of engineering maths to be had there.

As I said I'm not a game developer, so I have no experience in that field. Working with graphics probably involves a lot more maths, much more than databases. It depends on what field you plan to specify in....what I meant that programming in general is not based on math. As you don't have to be a doctor to be able to write a medical program you don't have to be a mathematician to write a math program. A programmer can write any type of programs if he gets a proper description of the task. Of course, as he becomes more experienced in the actual field he will need less detailed specification of the task.