Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The decline in subscriptions (your thoughts)

When I started playing Mmorpg's a relatively recent 6 years ago the subscription p2p model was all we saw for the mainstream games with the f2p model used on the lesser known titles. Fast forward to today and we are seeing the death of the subscription model. The player base has grown exponentially with the mainstream success of wow, swtor and other mass marketed games which brought more attention to a once niche industry. I feel that the decline in subscriptions is because the base is beginning to normalize and the fickle masses are moving on to the next big thing leaving parts of the original base and some holdovers from the newer generation of mmorpg'ers. Less players means less money for the gaming companies and that is why i believed the f2p with microtransactions and cash shops will be the future of mmorpgs. Still that's just my reason for the decline in subscriptions I'd love to hear other theories on this and whether the shift is a good or bad thing for the industry.

Comments

• OnomasOnomas Member UncommonPosts: 1,147

Thats because there are no real epic mmorpgs to subscribe to lol. Rift, EQ2, WOW, and a few others still have subs because they are decent games with lots of content. Todays games, you skip half the content, and forced downa path. You can only do that so many times before you get bored. You can only do dailies, raids, and warzones so many times before it kicks in " why am i wasing my time doing this instead of exploring a world/game/immersion.

6 years ago the mmo's actualy meant something, had a purpose, had a goal, had freedom. Today, none of that happens, and many dont see it.

50 cents a day, for a sub. 50 cents! Is not a lot for 24/7 unlimited content and no cash shops to milk you.

I think once some better games come out that charge subs, you will see the opposite of your post.