Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The Secret World or The Secret Rip-Off?

dannicusdannicus Member UncommonPosts: 99

I just started playing this game, it has some nice features but so far little to none group involvement and it's pretty boring. Anyway I'm sure the game becomes more interesting and group involvement as you play but the issue that bothers me is the combination of an item-mall and a pay to play subscription. 

Not only is the game about 15 dollars a month but many of the appearance changes, titles, pets, wardrobe and even a haircut cost extra real life cash. That to me is ridiculous and unethical capitalism. This game is definitely not worth it when it cost you over a dollar USD just to change your toons lipstick.

Shame on Funcom.

Comments

• ThillianThillian Member UncommonPosts: 3,156

Appearance changes -- there are hundreds of different clothes obtainable ingame without paying anything.

Haircuts - you get 2 free haircut tokens obtainable via missions.

There are a few pets and titles that are shop-exclusive, pretty much equal to WoW.

The shop apart from a few pets does not really offer anything. Most of the people do not use it.

REALITY CHECK

• RandomDownRandomDown Member UncommonPosts: 145

Do we need more people complaining about prices and such? The 15 dollars haven't risen with inflation like everything else so its an understandable way of doing things. Maybe not wise or w/e but the shop is cosmetic so its not a huge issue anyways.

The game had great story and I like the skill wheel but it really is just a straight grind at later levels unfortunately when you start running HM dungeons.

• jinxxed0jinxxed0 Member UncommonPosts: 841