Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How important is music to you when playing?

tort0429tort0429 Member UncommonPosts: 297

To me it just makes imersion better.

Not an mmo but one of the best songs in gaming from Halo 4.

http://youtu.be/BQ-mmSh9yMw

[Deleted User]Phaserlight

Comments

• gordiflugordiflu Member UncommonPosts: 757
    I turn it off, in any game. It actually breaks inmersion in my opinion.
    [Deleted User]Kyleran
  • stringboistringboi Member UncommonPosts: 394

As far as I'm concerned, a quality soundtrack is what makes a good portion of a game.   Maybe its because I'm a musician and really appreciate music and a good score, but I cant imagine feeling nostalgic about any of the games I love if it werent for the music.  

A great soundtrack should always be there, regardless if you turn the music off or not....it adds immersion and if done right, it can make a good game great!

• FoomerangFoomerang Member UncommonPosts: 5,628

As a musician, its very important to me. Unfortunately, most mmo music is crap. So i usually have the music off. I really enjoy good ambiant sounds in mmos.

KyleranPhaserlight
  • muffins89muffins89 Member UncommonPosts: 1,585
    very important for pve.  it helps set the mood and pace of the game.  when i pvp i put on my own music for the same reasons. 
  • PhaserlightPhaserlight Member EpicPosts: 3,071

Highly.  Music affects mood, state of mind, etc. and can actually enhance combat from my perspective.  Meditative state = fewer emotional reactions, heightened reflexes, and an expanded awareness.

I usually only listen to the OST in my game of choice for half an hour at a time.  More frequently I listen to internet radio or a setlist.  Spacemind2012 has some good ones on YT.

[Deleted User]

"The simple is the seal of the true and beauty is the splendor of truth" -Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar