Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

A Question for current FFXI players from a Vet...

Pratt2112Pratt2112 Member UncommonPosts: 1,636

So, as the subject indicates, I'm a veteran FFXI player who started back on day 1 of the U.S. PC launch. I played more or less non-stop (some breaks along the way, etc) up through WoTG and the 3 mini-adventure packs (Shantotto, Moogle, Prophecy) but more or less stopped with Abyssea.

Along with many others, I left XI in disgust at how Abyssea changed the game (or at least the way it was played) so drastically. I hated it, to be blunt.

I came back a few times and tried to give it a go. However, most everyone I knew had left the game, or had become rather uninterested in helping out at all. I'd heard many horror stories of people who weren't already familiar with Abyssea being kicked from groups - even if they were new to it and couldn't realistically be expected to know all what was going on yet (as usual, many people tend to forget they were once in that position themselves, and become elitist pricks about it). So, feeling completely lost at sea,  just sorta gave up and left.

After a while now, I feel like maybe it'd be a good time to come back, as a new proper expansion seems to be on the horizon and it looks like things have at least become more interesting to me again.

So! Here's what I'm left with...

I have two jobs at 75: MNK and DRG. I have various other jobs at 37 and other levels of progress. I was never one to "play everything", so I focused only on the jobs I enjoyed and/or that would be beneficial to my playstyle (as subs, etc). I'm not an "end-game loot chaser". I find raiding fun as something to do once in a while, but I have no interest in making it a full-time endeavor.