Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What is a "Real MMORPG"?

SomeOldBlokeSomeOldBloke Member UncommonPosts: 2,167

I'm asking this mainly to the UO and EQ vets as I never played them. My first MMO was EVE back in 2003/4 when peak was 3-4000 players (yes, I did't leave off a zero). At the time I had no clue exactly what an MMO was and thought I was just playing an online space game. The same can be said for SWG which was my next game (not sure if this was pre CU but it was defintely pre-NGE). It was only after I started playing the 'mmo that shall not be named' you know the one with lots of subs, and subsequent MMOs that I realized what an MMO was.

So back to my original question, what is a Real MMO?

Comments

• Greymantle4Greymantle4 Member UncommonPosts: 809
    Originally posted by mbd1968

I'm asking this mainly to the UO and EQ vets as I never played them. My first MMO was EVE back in 2003/4 when peak was 3-4000 players (yes, I did't leave off a zero). At the time I had no clue exactly what an MMO was and thought I was just playing an online space game. The same can be said for SWG which was my next game (not sure if this was pre CU but it was defintely pre-NGE). It was only after I started playing the 'mmo that shall not be named' you know the one with lots of subs, and subsequent MMOs that I realized what an MMO was.

So back to my original question, what is a Real MMO?

YOu played it IMHO SWG. The game needed work like any MMO after release but the foundation was there. 

• nariusseldonnariusseldon Member EpicPosts: 27,775
    There is no such thing. MMO is just a label to put on a collection of games. Each have different features. The label is just for convenience.
  • WhiteLanternWhiteLantern Member RarePosts: 3,309
    Originally posted by nariusseldon