Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Which MMOs you've brought were worth the money ?

Comments

• jdlamson75jdlamson75 Member UncommonPosts: 1,010

Funny how the two games that, for me, were completely worth the money I spent were games I joined after they'd been established:  WoW and Darkfall.

I'm not sure how long WoW was out before I started playing, but the guild I joined had only a couple of 60s, there were a bunch of people LFG UBRS all the time, and TBC was a fairly long ways off; that said, it sure as hell wasn't day, week, or month 1.  I enjoyed myself in WoW, going from a super casual player to raider in the span of a year, and played the game for a good 4 or so years.  Definitely worth the money I spent.

Darkfall...I tried for a couple of weeks to get in, but it was nigh impossible, so I gave up.  Two or three months in, I decidd to give it another shot.  Though I've unsubbed several times for months at a time, I've consistently gone back to the game over the past 3+ years.  I'm not a hardcore PvPer, so that's not what drew me back in.  Again, it was the people with whom I played.

I'm not upset that I spent money on all the other games I've played, but had I not spent the money...well, it probably would have just gone to beer and bacon.

• Beatnik59Beatnik59 Member UncommonPosts: 2,413

For me:

The WoW free trial (played two hours and said "this sucks")

City of Villains

EVE

Star Wars Galaxies: An Empire Divided.

Bad buys:

Warhammer Online (played two days and said, "this sucks," and paid $50 for the privilege)

Star Wars Galaxies: Rage of the Wookiees (came with the CU, which really upset the game for me)

Seed (great concept, was waiting for it to get better, but it never really did...and then it closed in two months)

"...when it comes to pimping EVE I have little restraints."
    --Hellmar, CEO of CCP.