Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Paying subs for an MMO is an outdated model

chryseschryses Member UncommonPosts: 1,453

MMO's are going to have to go to a FTP / BTP model otherwise they won't survive.

In 2001 I started playing MMO's and I happily paid a sub due to the lack of MMO's out there.  Not to mention virtually no competition from console or PC.  (Wii, smartphones, hand held devices didn't even exist!)

In today's market there are:

- consoles

- PC single player games like Skyrim

- Hand held devices

- dozens of MMO's

- Wii

- Flash games on Face book

- Smart phones / iPad

There are multiple ways for a gamer to get a fix.  In the past 3 years I have seen a trend of MMO's being packed for 3 months at launch then dying a quick death.  Players won't commit to an MMO long term if there is a sub.  There is always a new MMO on the horizon or a new console or game being released.

An MMO needs a lot of population or by its very nature it dies badly.  FTP / BTP is the only model that will work going forward and if companies insist on sticking with a sub model, then they have literally set themselves up to fail.

My thread isn't a support thread for FTP / BTP btw.  Its about the changing gaming market and how subs are not justifiable anymore.

Comments

• BurntvetBurntvet Member RarePosts: 3,465

Making the same crappy MMO experience over and over again is an outdated model.

I and many others have no problem paying a sub for a good game, but for the last several years, there have not been any.

All that has been released is: 1. Themepark Clones and 2. 3rd rate indie pseudo sandboxes.

I would rather pay a straight up sub, then play half a game with the freemium models, or get nickled and dimed to death with most F2P implementations.

And so would a lot of others.

In fact, compared to most of the "baggage" that comes with F2P titles, I would rather play a game with a sub.