Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The secret world first 20 hours - UPDATED

ArakaziArakazi Member UncommonPosts: 911

I have been playing TSW over the weekend and have been enjoying it for the most part.  I choose this game as my "flavour of the month" since it had a fairly unique setting and skill progression. I have been wandering through various games (not always MMOS) for the last 6 months since I retired myself from EVE. For the most part these games have been poor but there are games out there that are worth playing and I think TSW is one of them.

The biggest strength of the secret world is the way it delivers quests. When you pick up a quest from a NPC you are taken into a cut scene where the scene is acted out, giving you the background of the quest and in indirectly way what you have to do to meet the objectives. The dialogue is funny, ironic and sprinkled with a bit of dark humour and full of references to popular culture. The characters themselves seem to come from straight from B movies. This along with the good music and sound direction gives the game its tone and fleshes out its unique feel.

The graphics are a bit hit and miss. Some objects such as cars are poorly done, yet some interiors and buildings are well done. Some of the lighting is poor and the view distance can be disappointing particularly when you climb to the top of a building and look out expecting a vista but are met with murky gray fog. The animations of the cut scenes are expressive and communicate exactly what the characters are try to portray. But the combat animations are not as smooth as they should be.