Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

[Interview] The Secret World: Funcom - About the Long Haul

124»

Comments

• ScribbleLay1ScribbleLay1 Member Posts: 177
    Originally posted by FrodoFragins
    So basically, it's already in maintenance mode.

I can agree with that.

• VimmVimm Member UncommonPosts: 7

I didn't mind the look of TSW or the theme, however, the MMO market is heavily congest atm and the competition has a lot of content out there, nobody wants to wait 2 or 3 years while paying a subscription for the developer to basically be in paid beta mode for the first year plus waiting another year or two to get some decent content.

It was my major issue with Rift as well, was a nice game but doing the same thing over and over is repetitive to the point people don't take paying jobs that repetitive, they are going to be hard pressed to part with their hard earned money to do that.

I believe sandbox of semi-sandbox MMOs are the real future.  It doesn't mean you shouldn't create great content, but at what pace can any developer produce content?  Nowhere near as fast as people can consume it.  Time spent creating tools that allows players to create content tends to give people the ability to fill the gaps between developer created content.

EVE Online is a great example, they get away with almost non-existent content development and their numbers have been strong and growing for many years.  People do not notice the lack of developer content as much when there are tools there for players to entertain themselves, especially the most competitive element of players.

The subscription model is dying, if no dead.  I don't think many new MMOs can afford to launch with only a subscription model if they want to compete, as the FTP is gaining popularity and people look at a game like GW2 or LOTRO and say why do I need to pay $X per month when I don't for other games.