Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Xsyon and Minecraft

eyesadieyesadi Member UncommonPosts: 56

Been watching this game since before it's release and just could not quite buy it as the majority still seems to deem it not quite ready for prime time.

Now, I'm a veteran of MANY mmo's, in fact, I'd say most EVERY major title.  Currently still playing Vanguard, Rift, Allods, RoM, forsaken world.....You get the idea.....I love the genre!

Few days ago a gaming buddy coerced me into trying Minecraft, and had to drag me into it, kicking and screaming!  Much to my amazement , i LOVE the concept.  

But I need a bit more.......cube graphics, even with the texture packs, just don't quite make the grade.....

Xyson seems to be a lot like Minecraft.

So my question is, simply, has anyone played both?  And, can you give me an opinion as to which one is currently more fun?

Xyson seems to have UNLIMITED potential.......but from my reads.......is nowhere near ready?

Thought and opinions, please?

Comments

• MirokataMirokata Member Posts: 107

I've played both. I've also played crafting centric sandboxes, like SWG and ATITD in the past -- absolutely love 'em.

Shallow comparison:

Minecraft is a fun game. You start with nothing, build a few simple tools, set up your base, further your technology, and eventually just free-build fun stuff. The tech and buildings are usually meaningful -- a diamond pickaxe is MUCH better than a wooden pickaxe; a shelter is necessary; redstone circuits can be useful. There are options to bypass the actual progression and resource gathering game and play in creative-mode if all you feel like doing is building an epic structure. There are also options for online vs and coop play since the servers are highly customizble. It is a sandbox.