Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Does race matter?

OyjordOyjord Member UncommonPosts: 568

Hi all,

I'm new to the game, just bought it, looking forward to headstart, and I'm catching up now on intel.

Does race matter?  I want to start off with a Necro, and now I need to decide race.  I just want to be sure before I decide (maybe Norn, maybe Asura?) that a wrong choice won't gimp my character.

Thanks!

Comments

• SoulOfRazielSoulOfRaziel Member UncommonPosts: 405

It does not matter. there are no race bonus of any kind.

just starter area/look

• FionFion Member UncommonPosts: 2,348

Races do not have stat bonuses or anything that would give an edge in the game. They do however have racial utility and elite skills. As OldManFunk noted. These skills are typically less powerful than the class based ones but still fun and useful in PvE. They are not usable in sPvP (structure PvP) but are usable in World vs World.

So when picking a race, chose based off what would best fit your theme, or what city or starting zone most appeals to you. The utility and elite skills are just a little side bonus that add some extra depth and fun to an already amazingly deep and culturally rich set of races. :)

Edit: Oh I should add that all races have the same hitbox (the invisible box on all characters that register a hit in combat), so playing an asura doesn't mean you'll be harder to hit necessarily. :)

• SiphaedSiphaed Member RarePosts: 1,114
    Originally posted by Oyjord

Hi all,

I'm new to the game, just bought it, looking forward to headstart, and I'm catching up now on intel.

Does race matter?  I want to start off with a Necro, and now I need to decide race.  I just want to be sure before I decide (maybe Norn, maybe Asura?) that a wrong choice won't gimp my character.

Thanks!