Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Why did you leave?

Comments

• L0C0ManL0C0Man Member UncommonPosts: 1,065

For me it was timezone difference and the death of our guild leader.

Back when I started playing it it was with a big group of friends that we've known each other on IRC for over 6 years (by then). The ones that were playing already were european so when we started joining the game one by one, we did it on the euro servers. Since we were playing together there were usually enough people online to do things with, and we accomodated our times to what most of us could do it (the little raiding we did was on sat/sunday night for euro, afternoon for US, for example). What made it work was our guild leader, a 60 years old retired comic book artist and one of the friendliest persons I've ever met, on or offline. Anytime any problem came up seemed that he had a way to fix it quickly and easily that left everyone happy.

He died in december 2007, we kept on playing but wasn't really the same. To make a long story short, by early 2008 most of my friends had left the game, the guild still existed but much fewer people online, and most of them were people I had met in WoW, most of the original group had left the game already, so I left for a while for Age of Conan... no need to tell you what a disaster that one was on release.

Came back to WoW a little later, some of the guild made alliances to keep raiding with other guild, but it became a bit too hardcore for my tastes (DPK systems, obligatory attendance or you'd be locked out of the group, things like that) so I usually kept out of it unless they really needed a second tank and couldn't find one. They had just introduced the daily quest system and the plateau sections so I still had things to so and was having fun by doing mostly solo questing, PUGs and some heroic dungeon guild runs.