Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I find it hard to make friends in other mmos....

Calintz333Calintz333 Member UncommonPosts: 1,193

I started playing FFXI in 2003 when the game first came out. I have been playing that mmo on and off usually 3 months on 9 months off every year since its release. I usually play when I am on vacation and or have enough free time to dedicate a significant amount of time to playing the game. During the 9 months off I am usually in the academic semester at my university and do not have the liberty to log in enough  time to justify the subscription fee. 

During these off times I frequently try  out new mmos that release. The problem is I never seem to make any freinds in these games, hence I end up qutting the game usually weeks after I purchase it.  I have had this experience both with free to play and very popular pay to play mmos. 

In world of warcraft I made a priest, leveled the character to level 85 and never had anyone on my friends list. It was hard to make freinds in the game because in that game it seemed like no one talked to each other, and everyone just did their own thing. 

This has been my experience with every mmo I try from WoW to Aion and even Rift. I can't seem to make freinds like I have made in FFXI. Even when I quit and come back to FFXI I frequently make 1-2 new freinds every time I return to the game. One interesting fact to point out is that the community in that game is mostly adults, but that can't be the only reason why I am able to make close freinds in FFXI and not in other games. 

Has anyone had this problem before as well?

Do you have connections that you have made in your main mmo that you cannot seem to form in other games for some odd reason, even though you behave the same?

Comments

• CastillleCastillle Member UncommonPosts: 2,679

Ive been finding it a lot easier to make friends in MOBAs than MMORPGs.