Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Just 10 skills or not?

Comments

• GorillaGorilla Member UncommonPosts: 2,235

Originally posted by hikaru77

Is just amazing how people elaborate theories trying to justify the gameplay in gw2 as something ¨hard¨ or ¨complex¨, i have played the last 2 BW,  GW2 is just easy from any point of view, my 10 years old nephew can play gw2 but he cant play a game like swtor, war or any other MMO with more than 5 skills. GW2 is all about ¨press 1¨ run, wait for long CDs, and run around ur target while u drink something., then use ur CDs, Press 1 and repeat.    

I think I've learnt chess at about seven years old. Yeah I know I was a late developer. Chess only has a dozen or so moves to learn, I guess that is not hard or complex either? Perhaps your observation says more about your nephew than the games you mention? Skill bloat is not a substitute for real depth, challenge, difficulty, or complexity. SWTOR is a great example where there're several skills that do the same thing depending on context. it could easily be rationalised into far fewer skills. Rift is interesting. That has many many skills and combinations, however there macro system trivialised things by allowing you to hit whatever had come off cool down with a single key or two. It epitomises is how simple some of these supposedly "complex" games really are.

As for GW I actually found some classes quite "challenging", others less so. One thing was clear people were getting knocked down all over the place.

• seridanseridan Member UncommonPosts: 1,202