Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The End of "Classes"?

MeliezaMelieza Member Posts: 269

Back in 2009, I started playing Champions Online.  This game amazed me with its 'classless' skills and unmatched character creation.

I played CO from release up until a few months ago (my main char has over 365 days of played time).

Now, I've started playing TSW.  Again, I have the freedom of skills and outfit (although not to CO level) along with overall better gameplay and story.

People start talking about other MMOs and what 'class they are playing' and I admit I've seemed to have gotten conceited.  I laugh and ask them how they can play a game that uses something as old school as classes.  I honestly can't see myself ever playing a game with classes again, it's just SO LIMITING.

I've come to expect being able to use whatever weapon or skills I want and wear whatever clothing I want.

Does anyone else feel this way?  Do you think games of the future will stop using classes? 

I always considered myself a "themepark gamer", I've actually never played a game deemed a "sandbox", but I know sandboxes tend to always offer these types of systems.  Am I unconciously driving myself toward sandboxes?

Comments

• KenFisherKenFisher Member UncommonPosts: 5,035

I like a flex-class system like in Morrowind and Oblivion.  One can play a structured class if they want, or custom-build with a large amount of freedom.

Yeah, I guess you might be a closet sandboxer :-)  To me (and few agree on this) freedom is THE defining factor in sandbox gameplay.

Ken Fisher - Semi retired old fart Network Administrator, now working in Network Security.  I don't Forum PVP.  If you feel I've attacked you, it was probably by accident.  When I don't understand, I ask.  Such is not intended as criticism.
  • TheocritusTheocritus Member LegendaryPosts: 9,754