Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

MMO mechanics - tanks and the Boss

buden-ninjabuden-ninja Member UncommonPosts: 53

I want to say first off that I am not comparing any game to any other or saying that one is better than another. I started playing MMO's with my friends because we played D&D and wanted to 'get our rpg hit' when we couldn't get together. MMO's were an easy decision. I know they are games in a fantasy setting and we fighting dragons and orcs and giants etc but the whole mechanic of a tank doesn't make sense. Why would the BBEG focus on the most heavily armoured guy sitting in front of him? For example, if I were a BBEG and the guy with the massive shield and armour was standing in front of me but then all of a sudden a guy stabbed me in the back, I would turn around no matter how much the tank was taunting me. And after seeing the guy in leather armour, I would think easy kill and try to twat him. Or if it is a guy in robes hurling fireballs at me, I would charge past the tank to hit him. That is why we never have an MMO-style tank in our D&D campaigns. What is the point? The BBEG will eat the attack of opportunity and go for the wizard. I get the healer and the other roles but unless the tank can physically prevent the BBEG from getting at the others, then what is the point? Maybe the easy argument is to say that if we can suspend our belief when it comes to dragons and fireballs, then we should be able to extend it to tanks and such but something has always bothered me about this in MMO's. Do you see what I am trying to say? 

Comments

• XiaokiXiaoki Member EpicPosts: 3,847

Originally posted by buden-ninja
    the whole mechanic of a tank doesn't make sense. Why would the BBEG focus on the most heavily armoured guy sitting in front of him? 
    Because it makes sense in a video game and MMOs are video games.