Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

TSW: Best MMO So Far For This New Player..

I just started playing MMOs a few months ago when a few friends said I had to try SWTOR.  I loved it at first and it introduced me to MMOs.  Looking back, it was embarassing to roll "need" for armor that I couldn't use during Flash Points.  During my first few dungeons, people just quit on my group or flamed me.  I almost stopped playing, but figured things out and now at least get the basics.  Once everyone I know stopped playing, I tried TERA and loved the combat..it was just like XBox action games.  But the lore and whole grinding turned me off.  So a few weeks back, I found mmorpg.com and started to read about the Secret World.  Most of the early posts here were negative (it seems), but I tried the last few betas and love the game.  The combat is not as smooth as TERA, but everything else is better.  The thing I like best is...

You aren't stuck in the role as healer, dps, tank.  It seems like you can play any role legitimately.  I haven't run a dungeon yet, but from watching youtube, it seems like people can still play a strict tank/healer/dps, and also play an effective utility or hybrid role.  I really feel like other MMos should take a look at that...I played a healer in TERA and did fine durting the dungeon runs, but my DPS was so subpar, it was a waste of resources to do anything but heal the tank.

I can also relate better to factions.  I can see how people can be drawn to the Templars (more traditional, old school), the Illuminati (Hipster, Younger, Aggressive..), and Dragon (the whole butterfly effect, natural course thing).  The world of TERA is totally foreign(obviously, it's an Asian inspired game) to me and just whatever..though the Amani look cool.  

And the lore of The Secret World is just awesome.  I like fantasy, but the whole end of the world type thing remind me of the Walking Dead.