Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

EQ was the best thing to happen to MMOs

2»

Comments

• OberanMiMOberanMiM Member Posts: 236
    Originally posted by The_Korrigan
    Originally posted by OberanMiM

As opposed to the worse way of randomly grouping people together and letting the egotistical rage fly (ie battlegrounds and instances)

I don't really see how EQ's way was worse.... Too many players treat today's games as solo and complain when they hit max level within the first month & the lack of attachment to the game..

I already told you that WoW wasn't the best example either... and neither are BGs or Instances, which are only evolutions of the EQ model. And I don't talk about today's players and games, neither UO nor AC1 had either instances or BGs, or forced grouping, yet those two games had some of the best communities I had the pleasure to be part of since I started playing multiplayer games ages ago. Try to imagine that... people were not forced to group, ever, but they did it regularly, FOR FUN. That builds communities, unlike forcing people to go into dungeons to bash mobs because there's no other way to progress and actually nothing else to do.

I consider the current method of letting players solo virtually everyone instead or requiring a group a complete 180 from EQ's method. So i do not consider it a deevolution from EQ. And EQ wasn't all about the endgame, post WoW it is completely opposite.

So in essence what you think are a result of the continued EQ model I consider to be complete opposites.

• RydesonRydeson Member UncommonPosts: 3,852

Well, I will only mention the worse ones then... gear grind based raid end game and forced grouping.