Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Worlds Inc sues Activ-Bliz over virtual worlds patent... who's next?

CavodCavod Member Posts: 295

http://www.forbes.com/sites/johngaudiosi/2012/04/13/worlds-inc-explains-why-its-suing-activision-blizzard-over-world-of-warcraft-and-call-of-duty/

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Call-of-Duty-Patent-Infringement-World-of-Warcraft-Worlds-Inc-NCSoft,15327.html

I'm not a lawyer so don't quote me.  What it seems is that World's Inc has a patent over 3D online virtual worlds that seems to apply to every MMO and other online games.

This could have a significant impact on MMOs and online gaming.  <theskyisfalling>

We really need separate forums for every newly launched game. There can be the anti-<MMO> one and there can be the 'what general discussion should be' one. All the lamenting can happen together where each can find solace in like minded can't-move-on-ers leaving the rest of us to actually move forward and discuss meaningful and relevant topics.

Comments

• adam_noxadam_nox Member UncommonPosts: 2,148

doubtful.  every so often some new absurd patent comes to light that involves technology.  like apple trying to pretend that it owns the patent to the general idea of a touchscreen tablet or an appstore. 

• CavodCavod Member Posts: 295

Originally posted by adam_nox

doubtful.  every so often some new absurd patent comes to light that involves technology.  like apple trying to pretend that it owns the patent to the general idea of a touchscreen tablet or an appstore. 

I was being silly about the sky is falling comment but do note this from the forbes comment section:

"The fact that Susman Godfrey (a reputable IP firm) is taking them on with a solid lead attorney, and on contingency, seems to indicate that the firm believes these patents are much stronger now than they were before and that there are infringers. They only get paid if they win or settle."