Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Im beginning to feel like a minority... more than before.

Comments

• DissolutionDissolution Member Posts: 210

Good thing is all the older games are going free. So when you need a nostalgia kick, jump back into one of the older ones.

I just started playing Vanguard. Having fun with it. Old school system like you are reminiscing about with better graphics than EQ. Playing old games reminds me what I liked about them, and reminds me what I did not like about them.

The reality, if you miss the old EQ, DAOC tyoe days, you really need to look backwards instead of forward. Any game now that comes out will never be exactly like that. Its just good business to accomodate a broad audience, and there is alot more pressure to do so from big name companies funding the devs. I think the old schoolers have an easier time finding a comfortable home in an older game after the dust settles than they do the new rage. With that come the nerd raging, QQ, I want it now kids and the insta-rage when their impossible expectations are not met.

Best thing about the older games was the community. Great thing is, most of the older games, and indie games still have it if you are willing to sacrfifice graphics and alot of times polish.

• CuathonCuathon Member Posts: 2,211

Originally posted by nariusseldon

Originally posted by Scrogdog

Originally posted by Sythion

Of course, but the point is that you can still buy just about any available genre.

I don't think classical music is the highest selling nor any where near it.  Yet I can still obtain a copy of Gustav Holst's The Planets if I want.

And you can still play the old games. Last time I checked EQ is still running.

Heck, you can still play the old text based adventure games too. So what is the problem?