Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

interesting question..

IchmenIchmen Member UncommonPosts: 1,228

seeing as i started playing haven and hearth after checking out salem, its kinda dawned on me no one as of yet has made any comment about the ingame economy.. 

im going with the assumption that its going to use the HnH player made one.. which kinda worries me, as the HnH econ really cripples new players to the point that they just wont play, once they hit the brick wall in crafting items and need X item for something with 0 means to get it.

so has there been much statement towards how salem will combat the economy issues they hit in HnH should salem use a similar system for ingame econ??

while i do understand both games do not limit you in creating all items in the game, i also know without some form of trade or mass multi-accounts dedicated to 1 aspect of the game for mats/crafting you pretty much hit a wall.. im sure many might not see a problem with a player run econ... but i frankly do not wish to have to dedicate 12 months or 2 yrs of heavy game play (8hrs per day /7 /365)  just to get skills high enough level that i can trade with players.. much like you run in to in HnH

once the game is online for 3 months or more and you wind up with a heavy dedicated group of players.. any new player is pretty much out of luck for trading.. as older players will not buy an item of lower quality items (which makes sense but it cripples the new player who did not have access to the early trading of low quality.)

on top of that, most trades which are made by older players could wind up being soo far out of a newer player's reach that its impossible for a newer player to attain the items they badly need to advance.. 

~~~generalized example~~~

(day 1 of launch, lowest bacon sells for 2 gold)

(day 120 of launch, lowst bacon sells for 900000gold)

(day 1 of launch lowest raw bacon trades for 1g)