Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Looking for a new rig - need help

warbot7777warbot7777 Member Posts: 110

So, lately I've been having problems playing SWTOR and some other games. I can't run them on high settings. I'm looking to get a new rig under $700. Please help. I want to be able to play SWTOR and Diablo 3/Starcraft 2 on max settings with no lag. 

I've heard tigerdirect and newegg are good websites. Should I start with a barebone kit? or just a case? I've never done it myself before but I know enough to change out a video card and RAM(which isn't much I suppose lol). I have a monitor so I have that covered, I also have 8 gigs of ram. 

Comments

• QuizzicalQuizzical Member LegendaryPosts: 25,347

What do you have right now?  Let's see if an upgrade is a possibility.  Do you already have other peripherals (keyboard, mouse, speakers, surge protector), or only a monitor?

If you want full max settings with a smooth frame rate, that often takes some very high end hardware, or sometimes can't even be done on commercially available hardware.  If you just want fairly high settings so the game looks nice, that's a lot more doable, even on a $700 budget.

• WorstluckWorstluck Member Posts: 1,269

Yep, I like Newegg for sure.  I will use TigerDirect if I have to, but prefer the egg.  I wouldn't bother with the barebones or partial builds they have there, I much prefer to pick everything myself, so I know exactly what I am getting.