Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

WTF has happened to the genre? Rants of a veteran mmorpg'er

crysentcrysent Member UncommonPosts: 841

Hello,

After my lastest forray into SWTOR  I've finally had it with the genre.  That is, I can't really comprehend what's happened over the last 10 years or so.  Is this really all a result of WoW?  Is this the result of investors wanting the companies to play it 'safe'?  What has happened?

A little about me:  I started playing mmo's in 98 with Ultima Online, from there I went to Everquest, Asherons call, Shadowbane/DAOC and on and on.  I've played every single AAA mmo to have come out over the years as well as many smaller ones.  I've watched the genre go from extreme hardcore (Everquest 1 death penalty, Ultima online full loot) to theme parks with 3 or 4 battlegrounds.  PvP has clearly taken a 'min-game' type feel to it.  Death penaltys are long gone from most MMOs.  Real challenge is found in the form of raids that take entire days and are made up of min/maxers.

I guess I'm asking how the genre ended up here?  8 years or so ago when Star Wars Galaxies was released it was a full loot, merciless game...2 months ago when TOR was released it was a WoW clone with the Star Wars IP attached.  Even games with successful past as more hardcore games have taken the WoW route..Mythic is a prime example of this: DAOC with 3 factions and a massive end game open world pvp area was replaced by Batrtleground heavy and cartoonish Warhammer.  Lord of the Rings online could have had epic PvP with such a solid storyline, instead we get some strange monster play.

Rift is no different, its a WoW clone with a twist on professions.  Everquest 1 is another prime example, one of the most hardcore PvE games ever made was turned into a cartoony solo-friendly (and far less popular) Everquest 2.